Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center - Online version of the Diary and Letters of Rutherford Birchard Hayes, with search. Also includes short biography.
From the site:
When the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center opened to the public on May 30, 1916, it was the first such institution in the United States. President Hayes' son, Webb C. Hayes, and the Ohio Historical Society founded this unique institution. It houses President Hayes' personal and political papers, and the artifacts of his administration. Until President Franklin D. Roosevelt established his Library at Hyde Park, New York, it remained the nation's only such institution.
Today, the Presidential Center Library holds more than one million manuscripts, nearly 100,000 books, pamphlets, and other material relating to his life, and administration. Researchers regularly consult the rich collection of Ohio genealogical and local history resources.
The President's Home--a thirty-three room mansion constructed in three stages between 1859 and 1889--is open to the public throughout the year. It contains the original furnishings belonging to the President and his family. The Museum contains more than 10,000 objects that belonged to the President, his family, and his administration. Each year some 50,000 individuals visit the Home, Museum, and Library. Center guides and volunteers give educational tours through the Home and Museum.
The 25-acre wooded estate includes gardens, a carriage house, more than a mile of historic hiking trails, and the tombs of the President and his wife Lucy. The Center also owns the Dillon House, a Victorian house that serves as a guest house and meeting center.
The State of Ohio provides a portion of the support through the Ohio Historical Society. Trust Funds, established by Webb Hayes, revenue-generating programs, admission fees, memberships, and donations provide the remainder of the needed funds.